Miller; councilmen, J. W. Hazel, Henry Byer, James Cupalo, William Weir, Sherley Stanbush and Clifton D. Wren. Since that record was made, charges have been preferred against the marshal, Edward De Miller, in connection with the enforcement of the prohibition laws, and he has been ousted from office. At present A. W. Hecker and W. F. Keiper, as deputy marshals, act in his stead. A visit to the village hall, which comprises the mayor's office and the jail, indicates the activity of these deputies. Outside piles of casks, said to contain wine, were awaiting the hearing before the mayor of the erstwhile owners. Vacant cells were filled with jugs and still of those who were charged with unlawful manufacture and sale. The exhibits at the mayor's office do not represent offenders in the village alone, as cases are brought to the mayor from the township outside. The present population of the village is about 500.

The last of the municipalities to be erected from the territory of old Brooklyn Township includes a great garden area, in the southeast part. The occasion for the breaking away from the township government was the higher tax valuations due to the intensive cultivation for gardening and greenhouse purposes. The citizens were paying for school buildings and improvements in other parts of the township and in larger proportions and got but little in return. J. E. Wyman visited P. H. Kaiser, the county solicitor, and requested him to direct this community to the necessary proceedings to secure for them a special school district. He was advised that a special school district would only be formed of a municipality. Then the necessary steps were taken and in 1903 the Village of Brooklyn Heights was formed to include in addition to the Brooklyn territory, nearly an equal amount from Independence Township. The first officers were: Mayor, M. L. Reutenik; clerk, H. H. Richardson; treasurer, Simeon Chester; councilmen, I. B. Hinckley, W. H. Gates, John Gehring, Sr., J. L. Foote and J. E. Wyman. The county records show that the Township of Brooklyn Heights was also formed of territory co-extensive with the village. This is functioning as a judicial township. In this village the green house industry is predominant. There are today more than 100 acres under glass. The first mayor of the village, Mr. Reutenik, was one of the leaders in a large way. He was active in forming an organiza-tion called the Growers' Market, which acts, as does the Citrus Association of the orange sections of the country, in directing the supply, sale and shipment of their products. Fresh vegetables are shipped throughout the year to all parts of the country. The Florists' Association also has a large representation from this section. The value of the vegetables and flowers produced from this territory each year totals a sum unthought of when Isaac Hinckley tried to mortgage 100 acres for a barrel of flour and was refused.

The present officers of the village are: Mayor, H. J. Webster; clerk, A. F. Goldenbogen; treasurer, George Walter; assessor, Ross Wyman; councilmen, Frank Wutrich, George Thompson, Alexander Drecer, E. W. Arth, A. G. Heinrichs and Henry Merkle.

Thus Brooklyn Township, number 7 of range 13, has raised up six separate municipalities, four have merged in Greater Cleveland and two have still their separate government, and a little corner of number 7 is still the Township of Brooklyn. Among the trustees of the original township have been Samuel H. Barstow, Diodate Clark, William Allen, Samuel Tyler, Martin Kellogg, Russell Pelton, William Burton, Jonathan Fish, Benjamin Sawtell, Ezra Honeywell, William Hartness, Philo Rowley, Morris Jackson, Samuel Storer, Levi Lockwood, R. C. Selden, Seth Brainard, James Sears, Ambrose Anthony, Francis Branch, Homer Strong, Clark S. Gates, John Goes, David S. Brainard, John L. Johnson, C. L. Gates, John Reeve, Martin K. Rowley, Thomas James, James W. Day, Joseph Marmann, Levi Fish, William Lehr, F. S. Pelton, Jacob Siringer, John Ross, Marcus Dennerle, Jefferson Fish, Bethuel Fish, John Myers, Samuel Sears, Robert Curtiss, Daniel W. Hoyt, Erhart Wooster, Robert Curtiss, J. C. Wait, John Williams, John Schmehl, Charles E. Farrell, Seymour Trowbridge, Charles Miller, Sanford R. Brainard, William Thomas and Peter Vonderaue. Among the clerks have been C. L. Russell, Samuel H. Fox, Francis Fuller, John H. Sargent, George L. Chapman, Charles Winslow, C. E. Hill, F. W. Pelton, Bolles M. Brainard, Charles H. Babcock, Frederick Dalton, Joseph B. Shull, F. H. Chester, Fred W. Wirth, Edwin T. Fuller, B. J. Ross, William Treat and Charles N. Collins. Among the treasurers, Oziah and David S. Brainard and Bethuel and Ozias Fish, Carlos Jones and Carver Stickney also served in that office.

Among the justices of the peace, who have represented the majesty of the law in Brooklyn Township, may be mentioned George W. Marsh, C. L. Russell, William Burton, Benjamin Doud, Herman A. Hurlbut, Samuel Tyler, Scott W. Sayles, J. H. Sargent, Benjamin Sawtell, Andrew White, Ezra R. Benton, Henry I. Whitman, Homer Strong, Samuel Storer, J. A. Redington, Ezra Honeywell, Wells Porter, Charles H. Babcock, Felix Nicola, Benjamin R. Beavis, John Reeve, John S. Fish, Joseph M. Poe, Ambrose Anthony, William Treat and Charles N. Collins. All should have the title of Esquire attached to their names. Mr. Collins was clerk of the Village of Brooklyn at the time of its annexation to Cleveland. Joseph M. Poe served several terms as a member of the Legislature from this county and was related to the Poes so famous as Indian fighters in the pioneer history of Ohio. Felix Nicola served as sheriff of the county, and Charles H. Babcock, as has been said, was at one time speaker pro tem of the Ohio General Assembly.

The first religious services in Brooklyn were held by a traveling Universalist preacher. As early as 1814 a Methodist class met at the home of Oziah Brainard. It started with three members, Ebenezer Fish, Sylvanus Brainard and Seth Brainard. This small class increased to ten. In 1817, Booth and Goddard, Methodist circuit riders, preached in Brooklyn and soon after the Methodist Church was organized. It held meetings in a log house which later was used by the Congregationalists, who organized in 1819. The Brooklyn Methodist Church in 1837 moved into a frame building on what is now West Twenty-fifth Street, near Denison Avenue, and in 1848 a brick church was built on the site of the frame one, which was moved away, and in 1916 was dedicated the present structure on Archwood, which was built at a cost of about \$85,000. Previous to 1844 a number of seceders from this church organized what was known as the Reformed Methodist Church, across the valley in Brighton. Among the members were Ogden and Julia Hinckley, Cyrus Brainard and Joseph This organization was allowed to lapse and in and Mathilda Williams. 1844 the Brighton Methodist Episcopal Church was organized. Among the pastors who have served this church the name of Rev. E. H. Bush is the most widely known. The present pastor of the Brooklyn Church on Archwood is Rev. Elmer S. Smith. Among the early pastors are (omitting the Rev.) James Taylor, John Crawford, Solomon Meneier, Adam Poe, H. O. Sheldon, James McIntyre, N. S. Albright, Joseph Mat-tock, Alfred Holbrook and —— Hoadley. In 1876, T. K. Dissette was superintendent of the Sunday school. He became a preacher and platform orator of note and for many years, after leaving the ministry for the law, served as judge of the Common Pleas Court in Cleveland.

The Congregational Church of Brooklyn was organized in 1819. The